31. January 2020 | Magazine:

Honorary professorship for Professor Laura De Lorenzis Further cooperation in research projects

Professor Laura De Lorenzis, until now head of the Institute of Applied Mechanics, has been appointed honorary professor of the Faculty of Architecture, Civil Engineering and Environmental Sciences. In this way, the faculty recognises her commitment to research at Technische Universität Braunschweig and sets an example for further cooperation in previous and future DFG joint research projects.

The President of TU Braunschweig, Professor Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla, presented Professor Laura De Lorenzis with the certificate. Photo credit: Kristina Rottig/TU Braunschweig

Professor Laura De Lorenzis will leave Carolo-Wilhelmina at the end of January to follow a call from ETH Zurich, where she has been appointed Professor of Computational Mechanics. The expert for computer-aided simulation methods will remain connected to TU Braunschweig through her further research activities in the new transregional project TRR 277 “Additive Manufacturing in Construction”, in the Cluster of Excellence SE²A (Sustainable and Energy Efficient Aviation) as well as in the DFG Research Training Group 2075 “Modelling the constitutional evolution of building materials and structures with respect to aging”.

“We are very pleased to be able to maintain the close involvement of such an outstanding scientist as Professor De Lorenzis in our university,” says Professor Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla, President of TU Braunschweig. “She will use her expertise to further advance our collaborative research projects.”

About the person

Professor Laura De Lorenzis studied engineering at the Università del Salento in Lecce, Italy, where she received her doctorate in 2002 and subsequently worked as a junior professor and associate professor. She has won several awards for her research, including the 2011 RILEM Medal, the 2011 AIMETA Junior Prize, the 2012 IIFC Young Investigator Award and the 2014 Best Paper Award at the FRPRCS7 International Conference in Vancouver, Canada. In 2011, she won an ERC Starting Researcher Grant. In addition, her course “Technische Mechanik 1” was awarded with LehrLEO-Award, the student teaching award of TU Braunschweig, in 2015. For further nominations, she received the Honorary LehrLEO in 2019. From 2013 to 31 January 2020, she was head of the Institute for Applied Mechanics at TU Braunschweig.