13. July 2022 | Press releases:

Senate elects and confirms Vice Presidents Experienced members and two newcomers on TU Braunschweig Executive Board

The Executive Board of Technische Universität Braunschweig is reorganising itself and expanding the number of part-time vice presidents. In order to meet contemporary governance structures and following the example of other excellent technical universities, the Senate, on the proposal of President Prof. Angela Ittel, confirmed three current vice presidents today on 13 July 2022 and elected two new members of the leadership team. The university management will therefore consist of the President Prof. Angela Ittel, the full-time Vice President Dietmar Smyrek and the part-time Vice Presidents Prof. Tatjana Schneider, Prof. Katja Koch, Prof. Knut Baumann, Prof. Arno Kwade and Prof. Peter Hecker. Furthermore, TU Braunschweig has started the process of electing another full-time Vice President for Digitalisation and Sustainability.

A new office has been created for the area of “Internationalisation and Regional Relations“, for which Prof. Tatjana Schneider is to be appointed. The department of “Technology Transfer and Innovation” was newly established, for which Prof. Arno Kwade will be responsible as Vice President.

Three members of the Executive Board were confirmed in office: Prof. Knut Baumann remains Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs. Prof. Peter Hecker remains responsible for Research and Early Career Scientists. Prof. Katja Koch was also confirmed for a third term as Vice President for Organisational Development and Teacher Training.

The business of the newly created full-time department for “Digitalisation and Sustainability” will be taken over by Vice President Prof. Manfred Krafczyk until the position is filled.

With a statement from the University Council, the election proposal confirmed by the Senate will now be submitted to the Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture for a final decision, as required by the procedure. The two-year term of office of the part-time vice presidents begins on 1 August 2022.

All four of TU Braunschweig’s main research areas, mobility, infection and therapeutics, future city, and metrology, are represented in the new Executive Board. In addition, the composition of the newExecutive Board represents the disciplines of life sciences, engineering sciences and humanities and education sciences.

“With this election, we have some of the best minds of our university on the leadership team. The decision was clear: on the path of our holistic development and due to the enormous demands placed on strategic university development nowadays and in the future, we have to realign the expertise in governance and the departments. I am convinced that this will put us in an excellent position to implement our ‘Higher Education Development Concept 2030’. I am very much looking forward to working together,” says President Prof. Angela Ittel.