1. October 2022 | Press releases:

Angela Ittel and Tanja Brühl Head TU9 TU9 Alliance of Leading Universities of Technology in Germany with dual leadership

Angela Ittel, President of Technische Universität Braunschweig, and Tanja Brühl, President of Technical University of Darmstadt, will lead the TU9 Alliance as dual leaders. This is the first time that two women have taken on the leadership role in the Alliance of leading Universities of Technology in Germany. By choosing Angela Ittel and Tanja Brühl, the TU9 Alliance has not only appointed experienced science managers with excellent networking skills – the Alliance also signals its claim to modern leadership concepts. Strengthening the importance of Technical Universities in and for society and firmly anchoring them as essential drivers of innovation and transformation is just one of the claims of the new TU9 Presidents.

The newly elected Executive Board of the TU9 Alliance has set out to make TU9 more visible in numerous networks and contexts: TU9 Universities contribute unique expertise in tackling the major global challenges of the present, such as the energy and mobility transition, climate change, and sustainability, and assume social responsibility. This needs to be made visible both nationally and internationally. In their new role, the presidents consider it of major importance to demonstrate that Universities of Technology are not only hubs in research and innovation ecosystems and thus of great economic importance. They are also key players in the fight against the shortage of skilled workers. To ensure that the Universities of Technology are considered in the design of political framework conditions and the development of new (funding) concepts, the new TU9 leadership wants to raise awareness of their needs in research, teaching, and transfer.

“We are looking forward to jointly steering the fortunes of the TU9 Alliance over the next two years,” said Tanja Brühl and Angela Ittel. “We would like to thank our TU9 colleagues for the trust they have placed in us by electing us, and Wolfram Ressel and Volker Epping very much for the excellent work they have done for the TU9 Alliance over the past years.”

Tanja Brühl and Angela Ittel were unanimously elected at the TU9 General Assembly on July 18, 2022, and will replace incumbent TU9 President Wolfram Ressel, Rector of University of Stuttgart, and TU9 Vice President Volker Epping, President of Leibniz University Hannover. The term of office of Wolfram Ressel and Volker Epping will end by rotation on September 30, 2022. In their work, they have placed an emphasis on the internationalization of the TU9 Alliance. The second half of their term was heavily marked by the Covid 19 pandemic. “I look back on the years as president of TU9 with gratitude and satisfaction and would like to thank Volker Epping for the successful cooperation,” said Wolfram Ressel. “I wish the new board all the best in steering the TU9 Alliance, which they will do very well with the diverse skills that my two TU9 colleagues bring to the table.”

Short Biography of Professor Dr. Tanja Brühl

Tanja Brühl has been President of Technical University of Darmstadt since 2019. Previously, she was Professor of International Institutions and Peace Processes at Goethe University Frankfurt, where she was also Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs between 2012 and 2018. Tanja Brühl has been President of the European University Alliance Unite! since 2019.

Short Biography of Professor Dr. Angela Ittel

Angela Ittel has been President of Technische Universität Braunschweig since 2021. From 2008 to 2021, she held the chair of Educational Psychology at Technische Universität Berlin, where she was also Vice President for Strategic Development, International Affairs, Young Academics, and Teacher Education from 2014 to 2021. Angela Ittel has been a member of the Board of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) since 2020.

About TU9

TU9 is the Alliance of leading Universities of Technology in Germany: RWTH Aachen University, Technische Universität Berlin, Technische Universität Braunschweig, Technical University of Darmstadt, Technische Universität Dresden, Leibniz University Hannover, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Technical University of Munich, and University of Stuttgart.

Tradition, excellence, and innovation are the hallmarks of TU9 Universities. Founded during the Industrial Age, they contributed decisively to technological progress back then and continue to do so today. They enjoy an outstanding reputation around the world as renowned research and teaching institutions that promote the transfer of knowledge and technology between universities and practice. As such, they train exceptional young academics for careers in science, business, and administration and assume social responsibility. TU9 Universities foster top-class international networks and diverse cooperation with industry, making them a key element of Germany’s position as a location of science and innovation.